Menu Back

Contact Back

Call Us Now!
Tap Here To Call Send Us a Text/SMS
Contact Search Menu

Safe Passing Law Updated in New Jersey

Thousands of pedestrians are killed every year in vehicle collisions. As a result, states work to help protect people from harm. Many states have ‘safe passing’ laws to increase safety for people that share the road with vehicles.

vehicle safe passing law

New Jersey clarified rules and increased penalties for its safe passing law. The law defines how and when drivers approach and pass people sharing the road.

Here are the vital details you need to know about the safe passing law in New Jersey:

New Jersey Safe Passing Law

Drivers share the road with pedestrians, bicyclists, and other people legally using the road. Each year, the number of vehicle collisions with pedestrians has seen a scary increase. Safe passing laws are intended to improve safety

new jersey safe passing injury lawyer

New Jersey safe passing laws help protect pedestrians, bicyclists, and other people using the roadway. The law for safe passing includes the following:

  • approach the non-vehicle with increased caution
  • move over one lane when possible
  • maintain a 4-foot safety zone when passing
  • slow down until it is possible to safely pass without endangering others sharing the road

Clear Rules For New Jersey Motorists

The law provides clear rules for New Jersey motorists about when and how to pass other people sharing the road. This law applies to situations involving people on foot, bicycles, wheelchairs, skateboards, scooters, or other legally permitted ways to travel other than a motor vehicle.

The law is enforced to protect people who have the legal right to share the road with cars. Any driver caught violating the new rule will face penalties.

bicyclist injury lawyer

What is the Penalty?

New Jersey has clear penalties for drivers that fail to safely share the road with vulnerable people. Anyone who violates the safe passing law may receive one or more of the following:

  • 2 points
  • $200 fine, plus court costs
  • up to 15 days of community service
  • increased insurance surcharges
pedestrian injury lawyer

Pedestrian Crashes In New Jersey

When compared to the rest of the United States, New Jersey has a disproportionate amount of pedestrian crashes. Drivers in New Jersey need to take safety seriously. If you are injured by a vehicle, you should contact a New Jersey injury attorney.

New Jersey Injury Attorney In Marlton, NJ

You may be entitled to compensation for your injuries. Contact Kane & Silverman for a free legal consultation with a New Jersey injury attorney.